FP trendSeptember 18, 2020 4:29:18 PM IST
The trash in Google Drive was more of a keep-and-forget section. As soon as a certain document or photo is no longer used, journey allows users to “remove”
But Google will change that. According to a new blog from the company now journey automatically deletes all files that have been in the trash for more than 30 days.
The update will be effective for end users on October 13th Google Drive. However, file deletion does not start on the same day. “Any file that was already in a user’s trash on October 13, 2020 will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period has expired, files that have been in the trash for more than 30 days are automatically deleted, “said Google.
This update will definitely bring journey on the same page as other G Suite apps like Gmail. The mailing application has already deleted emails that have been in the spam folder for over 30 days.
On the other hand, it means that users need to be careful before sending an item to the trash or monitor the folder to see if anything important has been sent to the trash.
However, administrators can restore items deleted from a user’s Recycle Bin for up to 25 days. This feature is used for shared work Google Drives and only an administrator account can recover deleted data.
In mentioning the scope, the blog said it is applicable to any item that has been thrown away from any device and platform. The behavior of backup and sync is not affected. In addition, items in the recycle bin “still consume quota”.