Home / SmartTech / Google Maps incognito mode is available for iOS

Google Maps incognito mode is available for iOS



Soon, iOS users can tap Google Maps to navigate and search for places without revealing their personal information. In a blog post, Google announced today that the Incognito mode, a privacy feature released for Maps on Android earlier this year, will be available for iOS in the coming days. Inspired by the feature of the Chrome browser of the same name, it will prevent places from being stored in a signed-in Google Account.

Turning on incognito mode is as easy as tapping a profile picture in Google Maps: A toggle is displayed to toggle it on or off. If this option is enabled, locations you search for and navigate to are not linked to your account. Additionally, Google Maps does not display personalized features (such as restaurant recommendations based on previously visited restaurants), and location history is not continually updated.

In addition to incognito mode, this is a mass-delete tool. Removing multiple locations from the timeline of Maps ̵

1; an ongoing list of the places you've been in – will be available for iOS as well as next month provided for Android users, so Google. With this feature, you can quickly find and delete multiple places in your timeline and your location history at once.

"Our goal is to keep you updated on your location history. Once you've turned on location history, you'll be regularly emailed to remember what data you store and how you can manage it, "wrote Google Maps product manager Marlo McGriff.

News, Google announced last summer, rolled out a setting that allows you to automatically delete location data. In the Google Account for the Mobile and the Internet dashboard, you can choose from a drop-down option of one of two windows – 3 months or 18 months – and set how long your data will be kept. The control also covers the web and app activities (eg, things searched and searched in Google services like Discover on Android, Maps, Search, and Google Play), and Google indicates that all older data be deleted continuously. [19659002]

These enhancements were made shortly after YouTube introduced incognito mode and about a year after Google revised the security check. In late 2018, Mountain View announced it would default to enabling security alerts for G Suite administrators when it believes a company's systems are vulnerable to a government-sponsored attack. More recently, Google has integrated personal data control – including a new data-viewing and deletion feature – into Google Search, like the Facebook and Cambridge Analytica data scandal. A report from Wall Street Journal last summer revealed that Google+, Google's social network, did not reveal an exploit that might have revealed the data of more than 500,000 users. According to the news, Google announced that Google+ will be officially closed to consumers after a 10-month settlement period in August 2019.


Source link